April 17, 2003

Recognition:  The MLS Players Union is recognized as the exclusive collective bargaining representative of all MLS players, becoming the first labor organization formed by MLS players.

December 1, 2004

First CBA:  The Union and MLS sign the first Collective Bargaining Agreement in MLS. The agreement raises the minimum salary, increases incentive bonuses, guarantees fully-paid health insurance for all players, creates the first grievance and arbitration system in MLS, and creates a 401(k) plan for players.

March 20, 2010

Second CBA:  The Union and MLS agree to terms on a second Collective Bargaining Agreement.  This agreement significantly increases the number of players with guaranteed contracts, limits the number of options in players’ contracts, increases all economic terms, creates new benefits for players, and increases player rights to move within the league by creating the re-entry draft.

December 8-15, 2010

First Re-Entry Draft:  For the first time in MLS history, players have leverage to negotiate fair terms with their current teams when their contracts expire, and have the ability to move within the league if they choose to do so through the re-entry draft.

March 4, 2015

Third CBA Signed: The Union and MLS agree to terms on a third Collective Bargaining Agreement.  Under this Agreement, restricted free agency is introduced for the first time in league history. Players who are 28 years old with at least 8 years of MLS for the first time can choose which team within MLS to play for when signing a new contract. In addition, the number of players with guaranteed contracts increases, and all economic terms increase.

December 14, 2015

First free agent in MLS history: Justin Mapp signs the first free agent contract in MLS history with Sporting Kansas City.

December 14, 2017

Name Change & Re-Brand: The MLS Players Union changes its name to the MLS Players Association and launches a full re-branding.